TreeTops Canopy Tour In the New River Gorge

Check out what I did on August 11, 2012!! New Exciting Adventures.

If that seems exciting and fun for you, let me tell you about my day. It all started at a “Environmentally conscious design & operation in a world class setting” in West Virginia at the New River Gorge, one of the more beautiful places in the world, at least in my opinion. My family and I arrived at our destination roughly a hour before our scheduled zip-line time like we were supposed to. Hanging out watching others come back from the TreeTop tours, made reality set in and I started getting excited and wondering what I was getting into.  Keep in mind this was a spur of the moment decision, after I found out I didn’t have to work that weekend, and all I knew about was what the website said, http://www.newrivergorgecanopytour.com/site/canopy-tour.html, and how I was going to complete 10 zip lines, varying in lengths from over 100 feet to as long as 730 feet with the zip speeds of 30 miles per hour and 5 sky bridges.

Then when our group was called (at 11:20) to get ready, we began learning harasses, and helmets, while learning about our tour guides and the safety precautions we need to know. Our group consisted of 8 guest(my family and 4 others) and 2 tours guides.

Our Tour Guides!

Getting Ready!!

After a short walk, we came to the practice zip-lines where we learn to stop, go, and what to do if we get stuck in the middle of the cable for some reason. Here C4 (our tour guide) started asking us questions to get to know us and see if we could follow directions correctly so we would not get hurt on the real zip-lines. Everybody did the practice course perfectly, except for 1 or 2 people whom let their nerves get a hold of them, and they started grabbing the cable instead of just pushing down to stop. This started to worry my family and I a little because we were not sure if those people would be able to make it through the course due to their dislike of heights.

Dad’s Practice Round

After everybody completed the practice round, we moved of the the real fun of the day, actually zip-lining!! Some of these lines started from the tops of the trees, while others started from the ground and you jumped off of rocks to get your start. Some places, the tour guides told us to see if we could yell for the full length of the zip, others we were supposed to yell out silly comments, such as something about Scooby Doo. Intertwined in doing zip-lines, we learned about the natures surrounding, where I learned about different mushroom and tree species, and crossed sky bridge, that swung in the air depending on how many people were on them.

Sky Bridge

Lastly where to start rappelling down the final platform, where I had to go first, which I didn’t like, the guides told us don’t worry just hold on to the rope which is on a pulley system and leap your foot out over the platform to spin around and then just starting letting the rope go through your hands. Well let me tell you that is easier said then done. And when I go to the ground I was like that was not as hard as I thought it was going to be, because on the platform it looks a lot higher than it really was. Next my aunt was next, and she start out climbing down like a pro,  until C4 the tour guide decided to start messing with her and holding the rope so she was stuck in the mid-air. She just keep yelling let me down, you are such a punk!! After everybody was down from the platform, we were ready to ride the bus back to our starting point that the lodge and end our journey.

If you would like to be interested in an experience like this one, look into the TreeTop Canopy in West Virginia I highly recommend it!! I had a Blast!! and Can’t wait to try the Gravity Zip Lines which go a lot higher and faster, but that for another weekend adventure. Want to see more pictures go to my facebook fan page, Experience Outdoors or look at the SmugMug picture at http://adventuresonthegorge.smugmug.com/Other/Treetops-81112/24759596_D99xq6#!i=2026199948&k=J75dcQM under 11:20 to see my family and myself.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “TreeTops Canopy Tour In the New River Gorge

  1. This looks like so much fun, and only a little bit scary!! I really want to try a canopy tour now.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

